Senator Plummer committed to curbing taxes via SJRCA 12

Signs onto Senate Republican plan to protect middle class taxpayers

Senator Jason Plummer (R-Edwardsville) is backing a new initiative to curb tax increases in the state. The Illinois Senate Republican Caucus is seeking to protect the middle class and give them a voice in safeguarding their hard-earned money through Senate Joint Resolution Constitutional Amendment 12, filed by State Senator Dan McConchie (R-Hawthorn Woods).

The proposal calls for an amendment to Illinois’ Constitution to prohibit the legislature from imposing or raising a state tax or fee except through legislation approved by a two-thirds supermajority vote in both the Senate and House of Representatives. Currently, legislators only need a simple majority to pass a tax increase or to implement a new tax.

“Enough is enough,” said Sen. Plummer. “Middle income families need enhanced protections against Illinois’ money hungry politicians. When government continues to create ways to reach into the pockets of their residents, the least we can do is provide taxpayers with an avenue of defense. They need a seat at the table.”

Sen. Plummer noted 15 states impose some kind of supermajority requirement—forcing two-thirds, three-fourths, or three-fifths of theses legislatures to support the plan in order to raise or implement taxes.

“We’re seeing state after state adopt this type of protection,” said Sen. Plummer. “States all around are moving in this direction in order to help protect taxpayers and ensure tax increases aren’t just passing willy-nilly.”

To put SJRCA 12 on the ballot in 2020, a three-fifths majority is required, and for the amendment to be adopted, voters must approve it on the ballot with three-fifths of those voting on the question or a majority of those voting in the election. If placed on the ballot and approved by voters, any new state tax or state tax increase would need to obtain 40 votes in the Senate and 79 votes in the House.


About Senate District 54:

The 54th State Senate District encompasses all or portions of Bond, Clinton, Effingham, Fayette, Madison, Marion, St. Clair, and Washington Counties. It stretches from Edwardsville to Effingham, covering suburbs of St. Louis and historic rural communities, including Vandalia, Illinois’ previous capitol city. The 54th District is home to over 200,000 people. More information and resources can be discovered on Sen. Plummer’s legislative website at and on Twitter @jasonplummerusa.

Media Questions?

Alexandrea Williams,



Jason Plummer

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: